A parliamentary-based film and scriptwriting competition for student and independent filmmakers based in the UK.

Tracy Brabin MP (Shadow Minister for Cultural Industries), Lord Tim Clement-Jones (Vice-Chair of the All Party Parliamentary Intellectual Property Group) and Giles Watling MP (Chair of the All Party Parliamentary Writers Group) are calling for local creators to enter Parliament’s prestigious Film the House competition.

This annual competition offers the opportunity to put local filmmakers in direct contact with the movers and shakers of the film industry and to have the best of UK talent take front and centre stage.

Each year, the best upcoming creators from around the country submit entries for a range of awards including Best Film Script (under and over 19), the Directors UK Award for Best Film Directions (under and over 19) and Best Short Film (under and over 19).

Entries are shared with MPs and an expert industry panel of leading figures from across Britain’s creative landscape choose the shortlist and winners. In 2019, prizes included mentoring from professionals in the film industry, a private screening of the winners’ films for friends and family and classification of the winning films and scripts by BBFC. The Film the House competition is a pioneering opportunity to showcase what the UK has to offer, while raising awareness about the importance of intellectual property (IP) to our creative industries.

Film the House is designed to raise awareness of the importance of protecting intellectual property rights among creators, legislators and the public. As reported by the BFI, British screen industries contributes £6 billion to the UK’s GDP – helping to make the sector one of the UK’s success stories. Therefore, it is essential that creators know their rights and that parliamentarians can knowledgeably consider them when debating any new legislation.

Competition details:

The competition is open to UK based student or independent filmmakers. You will need to provide details of who your local MP is along with your submission, and we’ll share all entries with MPs.

Dates for the 2020 competition are:

• 15 June 2020: Competition launch date

• 16 November 2020: Closing date for entries

• 1 February 2021: Shortlist announced

• 2 March 2021: Awards Ceremony, House of Commons, London

Categories for entry:

  • Best Film Script– under 19
  • Best Film Script – 19 and over
  • Directors UK Best Film Direction – under 19
  • Directors UK Best Film Direction – 19 and over
  • Best Short Film  – under 19
  • Best Short Film – 19 and over

To find out more, or to enter, please click here.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes:

<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>